Attachment A

Minutes of November 19th, 2020 MPO Meeting

Regular Meeting Greater Bridgeport & Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization

ALL ATTENDEES ATTENDED REMOTELY November 19th, 2020 at 10:00am Connecticut Metropolitan Council of Governments 1000 Lafayette Boulevard, Bridgeport, CT 06604

Name	Representing
David Cassetti, First Selectman	Ansonia
Joseph Ganim, Mayor	Bridgeport
Richard Dziekan, Mayor	Derby
David Bindelglass, First Selectman	Easton
Brenda Kupchick, First Selectwoman (Jackie Bertolone, Proxy)	Fairfield
Ken Kellogg, First Selectman	Monroe
Mark Lauretti, Mayor	Shelton/VTD
Laura Hoydick, Mayor, Chairman	Stratford
Vicki Tesoro, First Selectman	Trumbull
Joe Kubic, Chairman	GBT
Patrick Carleton, Deputy Director	MetroCOG
Devin Clarke, Regional Planner	MetroCOG
Matthew Fulda, Executive Director	MetroCOG
Colleen Kelleher, Finance Director	MetroCOG
Meghan Sloan, Planning Director	MetroCOG
Rick Dunne, Executive Director	NVCOG
Mark Nielsen, Planning Director	NVCOG
Ken Flatto	Bridgeport
Doug Holcomb, CEO	GBT
Sara Radacsi	CTDOT
Kurt Salmoiraghi	CTDOT
Rose Etuka	CTDOT
Doug Holcomb	GBT
Lynn DiGiovanni	Luchs + Decarlo
Meg Haffner	Kennedy Center

Minutes

 <u>CALL TO ORDER</u> MPO Chairman The meeting was called to order by the chair, Mayor Hoydick, at 10:01am. Mayor Hoydick explained the meeting guidelines.

II. <u>PUBLIC PARTICIPATION</u>

There was no public participation.

Mr. Fulda performed a roll call.

Joseph Kubic, GBT – Present Mayor Hoydick, Stratford – Present Jackie Bertolone, Fairfield – Present Mayor Ganim, Bridgeport – Present First Selectman Kellogg, Monroe – Present First Selectman Tesoro, Trumbull – Present First Selectman Bindelglass, Easton - Present Mayor Cassetti, Ansonia – Present Mayor Dziekan, Derby – Present Mayor Lauretti, Shelton & VTD – Present

A quorum was declared.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. September 24th, 2020 meeting continuing to October 14th, 2020

A motion to approve the minutes was made by Mayor Dziekan and seconded by Mayor Cassetti. The motion carried unanimously.

IV. ACTION ITEMS

1. Redesignation of GBVMPO: Resolution 2021-01

A motion to approve the redesignation was made by Mayor Dziekan and seconded by Mayor Cassetti.

Mr. Flatto requested that Mr. Fulda summarize the motion.

Mr. Fulda explained that the resolution was to authorize and endorse the realignment to allow Ansonia, Derby and Seymour to leave the GBVMPO and join Naugatuck, allowing Shelton to remain in the Greater Bridgeport MPO.

Mr. Nielsen noted that the resolution passed with a unanimous vote at the previous meeting with the exception of Bridgeport.

Mr. Fulda clarified that federal regulations requires 75% affirmative plus Bridgeport. As Bridgeport did not vote in the affirmative a new vote is required. Mayor Lauretti commented that there was no vote unless Bridgeport was in favor.

Mayor Ganim apologized for leaving the MPO with a proxy, though experienced. Mayor Ganim announced that he joined the meeting to get up to speed and would vote if appropriate and he was not convinced that it was. Mayor Ganim inquired if a study had been performed.

Mayor Hoydick commented that there has been no study however there have been conversations with major players and an extensive history with the past CEDS, One Coast One Future resulting in positive outcomes for future business and entertainment with lower Fairfield County.

Mayor Ganim appreciated the response and apologized for his lack of communication, noting that he was not an expert on the best decision but thinks a study should be done and would appreciate the feedback from the Valley. Mayor Dziekan appreciated Mayor Ganim joining the call and explained that Valley is aligned with Waterbury and noted that it is difficult to see what is going on in Fairfield County from Waterbury and would like to ensure that Valley is not forgotten.

Mayor Ganim responded that Connecticut is the size of most regions and commented that a reduction in size has never been a plus. Mayor Ganim noted that he was responding without having the information.

Mayor Dziekan commented that he wished the discussion had been had more than a year ago and they need to figure out what is best for the region.

Mr. Nielsen responded to Mayor Ganim that after the RPOs were consolidated in 2015, the planning programs continued to be separate creating an unideal situation. The realignment would allow the three Valley towns to become members of the organization that is planning for them.

Mr. Fulda explained that there would be no change in funding allocations.

Mayor Ganim commented that funding was not the basis for making the change. He noted that there were two towns that wanted to move and one that did not. Mayor Hoydick clarified that there were three towns that wanted to leave.

Mayor Lauretti expressed his opinion that a rational argument has not been made and did not want to be the smallest MPO. Mayor Lauretti commented that it was not about funding and decisions should be based on rational facts to strengthen Connecticut's economic future through Waterbury and Bridgeport as a natural alliance for economic growth and transportation.

Mayor Ganim responded that he would be more comfortable doing an impact study of the move.

Mayor Hoydick noted that the quorum had been lost.

Mr. Fulda performed a roll call to confirm the quorum:

Joseph Kubic, GBT – Present Mayor Hoydick, Stratford – Present Jackie Bertolone, Fairfield – Present Mayor Ganim, Bridgeport – Present First Selectman Kellogg, Monroe – Present First Selectman Tesoro, Trumbull – Present First Selectman Bindelglass, Easton - Present Mayor Cassetti, Ansonia – no Mayor Dziekan, Derby – no Mayor Lauretti, Shelton & VTD – Present

Mayor Gamin inquired why Valley members left if they wanted a vote.

Mayor Hoydick responded that as there was no quorum so no action could be taken.

V. <u>ADJOURN</u>

A motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Kubic and seconded by First Selectman Bindelglass. The meeting was adjourned at 10:37am.

Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Fulda, Executive Director, MetroCOG MPO Co-Secretary Rick Dunne, Executive Director, NVCOG MPO Co-Secretary