

Minutes of March 21, 2024 MPO Meeting



Regular Meeting

Greater Bridgeport & Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization January 25, 2024 at 10:00am

Connecticut Metropolitan Council of Governments 1000 Lafayette Boulevard, Bridgeport, CT 06604

Name	Representing

David Cassetti, Mayor, Remote (Sheila O'Malley, Proxy, Remote) Ansonia Joseph Ganim, Mayor (Ken Flatto, Proxy) Bridgeport David Bindelglass, First Selectman, Remote Easton William Gerber, First Selectman **Fairfield** Terry Rooney, First Selectman Monroe Annmarie Drugonis, First Selectwoman, Remote (time?) Seymour Mark Lauretti, Mayor, Remote Shelton and VTD Laura Hoydick, Mayor, Chairman, Remote Stratford Vicki Tesoro, First Selectman, Remote Trumbull Doug Sutherland, GBT Chairman (Doug Holcomb, Proxy, Remote) GBT

Patrick Carleton, Deputy Director MetroCOG Matthew Fulda, Executive Director MetroCOG Meghan Sloan, Planning Director MetroCOG Rick Dunne, Executive Director, Remote **NVCOG** Richard Donovan, Remote NVCOG Mark Nielsen, Assistant Director, Remote **NVCOG** Joanna Rogalski, Remote NVCOG Jane Dunbar, Remote CTDOT Jennifer Brady, Remote **FHWA**

Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER MPO Chairman

The GBVMPO meeting was called to order by the Chairman, Mayor Lauretti, at 10:07 am.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIENCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was performed.

III. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

Due to lack of a quorum, this item was taken out of order to become IV

IV. OTHER BUSINESS:

- GBVMPO TIP 2025-2028: Ms. Sloan explained that the TIP for 2025-2028 would be available for public review from mid-April to mid-May. A public meeting will be held on May 20th and the TIP will be presented to the board for approval at the May 30th, 2024 meeting. The TIP will be moving to an online platform for improved interactivity.
- 2. Next Meeting:
 - i. May 30, 2024

At 10:11, Ms. Sheila O'Malley joined the meeting, which achieved a quorum.

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. January 25, 2024

A motion to approve the minutes was made by Ms. O'Malley and seconded by Mayor Hoydick. The motion passed unanimously.

VI. ACTION ITEMS

Amendment FFY 2021-2024 TIP/STIP, FHWA Projects, Resolution 2024-02
A motion to discuss the resolution was made by Mayor Hoydick and seconded by Ms. O'Malley.

Mr. Fulda briefly explained the TIP/STIP projects and proposed amendments.

- i. <u>0138-0253:</u> Replace noise barrier between exits 32 and 33, I-95 NB, Stratford.
- ii. 0173-0535: D3 UHPC Beam End Repairs on I-95 & 1-91.
- iii. 0170-3733: NVCOG Municipal ADA Program

Mr. Fulda commented that 0170-3733 was added on March 19th as it was only received from CTDOT on the 18th. Mr. Nielsen explained the need for ADA Transition Plans.

Mayor Hoydick expressed concern that the amendment for 0138-0253 was to place the project in "FYI" and no future year was provided in the amendment. She could not support this amendment.

Ms. O'Malley expressed concern about further project delays.

Mr. Dunne requested that Ms. Dunbar, the CTDOT representative, provide more details on 0138-0253. Ms. Dunbar offered to follow-up and provide information on the amendment.

Mayor Hoydick suggested that CTDOT provide more information on TIP amendments in the future.

Mr. Flatto suggested that the project may be in the 2025-2028 TIP.

Mr. Dunne suggested splitting the amendment into two amendments. 0138-0253 would stay in 2024-02 while the two other project would be moved to a new amendment, 2024-03.

Mayor Hoydick made a motion to separate the current amendment into two separate amendments with item i becoming Amendment 2024-02 and items ii/iii becoming Amendment 2024-03. The motion was made by Mayor Hoydick and seconded by First Selectman Rooney. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion to table the revised amendment 2024-02 was made by Mayor Hoydick and seconded by First Selectman Tesoro. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion to approve 2024-03 (projects 0173-0535 and 0170-3733) was made by Mayor Hoydick and seconded by Mr. Flatto. The motion passed unanimously.

VII. ADJOURN

A motion to adjourn was made by Mayor Hoydick and seconded by First Selectman Rooney. The meeting adjourned at 10:30.

Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Fulda, Executive Director, MetroCOG MPO Co-Secretary Rick Dunne, Executive Director, NVCOG MPO Co-Secretary