In the News


Aug 24, 2022

The Greater Bridgeport and Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization invites the public to participate in the development of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) for the Greater Bridgeport and Valley Region. The Region is made up of the municipalities of Ansonia, Bridgeport, Derby, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Seymour, Shelton, Stratford and Trumbull.

The Metropolitan Transportation Plan identifies opportunities to improve mobility for people and businesses throughout the Greater Bridgeport and Valley planning area from 2023 to 2050. The MTP must be prepared in accordance with federal regulations (23 CFR 450§324). By sharing your ideas and opinions about how to improve the safety and efficiency of your community’s transportation system, you will help guide elected officials when they make decisions about where and how to invest in the transportation system in the future.

Interested parties are encouraged to share their knowledge and experience of their community and the Greater Bridgeport and Valley planning area by taking a brief survey, available at https://bit.ly/travel-2050 until November 1, 2022. A Spanish-language survey is available at https://bit.ly/viaje-2050.

Direct written and e-mail comments submitted should be sent to Matt Fulda, Executive Director, MetroCOG, mfulda@ctmetro.org, 1000 Lafayette Boulevard, Suite 925 (ninth floor), Bridgeport, CT, 06604 or Rick Dunne, Executive Director, NVCOG, rdunne@nvcogct.gov, Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments, 49 Leavenworth Street, 3rd Floor, Waterbury, Connecticut 06702. Written comments must be clearly legible, submitted on 8½” by 11″ paper and include the person’s name and address. Comments may also be submitted via https://bit.ly/mtp-comments.

MetroCOG is the Council of Governments for the six municipalities of the Greater Bridgeport Region: Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford and Trumbull. MetroCOG also serves as the host agency for the Greater Bridgeport and Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (GBVMPO), which includes MetroCOG’s six members as well as Ansonia, Derby, Seymour and Shelton. GBVMPO oversees the regional transportation planning process and capital improvement program for this ten-town region. The membership of the GBVMPO consists of the Chief Elected Officials of the ten municipalities and the chairpersons of the region’s two transit districts: Greater Bridgeport Transit and the Valley Transit District.

For more information, please call MetroCOG at (203) 366-5405 or the NVCOG at (203) 757-0535. Language assistance may be requested within a reasonable timeframe and is provided at no cost to the public.